BEST consists of biblical scholars and systematic theologians from the Theological Universities of Apeldoorn and Kampen. Scholars working in biblical studies or systematic theology who are interested in membership are invited to contact the chair, prof. dr. Hans Burger. The members cooperate in the research programme, focused on the biannual conferences, and work on individual research projects. More information about their research can be found on the websites of the Theological Universities of Apeldoorn and Kampen.


Dr. J.M. (Hans) Burger, Professor of Systematic Theology (Kampen)

Burger, dr. J.M. (Hans) – Theologische Universiteit Kampen | Utrecht (


Dr. Henk de Waard, lecturer of Old Testament Hebrew and Aramaic (Apeldoorn)

Senior researchers 

Dr. K. van Bekkum, Assistant Professor of Old Testament (Kampen / ETF Leuven),

Dr. A. Versluis, assistant professor of Old Testament (Apeldoorn),

Dr. J.M. Burger, Assistant Professor of Systematic Theology (Kampen),

Prof. dr. J. Dekker, Professor of Biblical Studies and Christian Identity (Henk de Jong-Chair) (Kampen),

Prof. dr. P.H.R. van Houwelingen, Professor of New Testament (Kampen),

Dr. M. Klinker-De Klerck, Lecturer of New Testament(Kampen),

Prof. dr. G. Kwakkel, Professor of Old Testament (Kampen),

Dr. M.C. Mulder, Assistant Professor of New Testament and Judaica (Apeldoorn),

Prof. dr. H.G.L. Peels, Professor of Old Testament (Apeldoorn),

Dr. R.T. te Velde, Lecturer of Systematic Theology and Historic Theology (Kampen),

Dr. H. de Waard, lecturer of Old Testament Hebrew and Aramaic (Apeldoorn),

Dr. A.J. den Heijer, associate professor of New Testament, Heijer MA, A.J. (Arco) den – Theological University Kampen (

Associate researchers

Dr. H. ten Brinke, Associate Researcher Systematic Theology

Dr. J. Doedens, Associate Researcher Old Testament

Dr. A.J. den Heijer, Associate Researcher New Testament

Internal PhD Students

G.T. van Appeldoorn, PhD student New Testament (Kampen),

J. van den Os, PhD student New Testament (Apeldoorn),

External PhD students

B. Adamo

P.J. den Admirant

A.E.L. Bosker

Ch. Choi

C. Florijn

Ch. Gunawan

Chr. Hilbrands

R. Hurd

C.-K. Kim

H.S. Kim

Dr. L.A. de Lima

M.Y. Matalu

E. Moerdyk

P. Nijsse

A.Th. van Olst

I. Roharjo

A. Santoso

J.-H. Seo

R. Tissen

B.A.T. Witzier

W. van Veelen